About me

TL;DR Bio:

At this point, the first thing that must be running inside your head is how do you pronounce my first name. If you are a native English speaker, try thinking of light sabers or racing cars. That is probably the best way to describe the correct phonetics of my name. (edit: this video might help)

I am a regular Joe. The kind of Joe who happens to love video games, board games and fast and loud music. The Joe that attended high school and went to University in pursuit of a degree that would bring him closer to technology and video games. In Portugal, my home country, those degrees are a Master’s of Science degree in Computer Science, as well as a Bachelor’s degree in the same field.

This website represents my portfolio of personal projects, as well as some academic work that I have been involved in. Stay a while and listen.

The rest of my bio:

Playing Guitar

My main hobby is, and has always been, playing guitar.

I’ve been playing it for quite some time… about 15 years, self-taught.

You can check some of my music in SoundCloud page here (although I haven’t been creating music for a while though).

My equipment:

  • Dean VMNT Dave Mustaine Signature Model
  • Esp LTD M-202 model with 2 EMG’s 81
  • Marshall DSL40c
  • Boss GT-8 Effects Processor
  • Native Instruments Guitar Rig Session Audio Interface

My influences, or my favorite bands for that matter, are:

  • Megadeth
  • Slayer
  • Deep Purple
  • Black Sabbath and Ozzy (Randy Rhoads and Jake E. Lee era)
  • Judas Priest
  • Iron Maiden
  • Pantera
  • Agalloch
  • Cacophony
  • Jeff Loomis
  • Marty Friedman
  • Jason Becker
  • Overkill
  • Sodom
  • Primordial
  • And so many others…

Video Games

Some of my favorites are:

  • Diablo – All of them
  • Sid Meier’s Civilization Series
  • Monster Hunter
  • Pokemon
  • Freelancer
  • Starcraft Series
  • Wing Commander
  • X-Com 1 and 2
  • The Secret of Monkey Island
  • Tyrian (If you know this one, you are an awesome person!!)
  • The Elder’s Scrolls: Morrowind
  • Command and Conquer: Red Alert
  • Deus Ex 1
  • Fallout 1 and 2
  • Transport Tycoon
  • Metal Gear Solid series
  • Minecraft
  • Red Dead Redemption
  • Grand Theft Auto – All of them
  • Mortal Kombat Series

Board Games

  • Agricola
  • Agricola: Farmers of the Moor
  • Robinson Crusoe
  • Terra Mystica
  • Puerto Rico
  • Vinhos
  • Merchants And Marauders
  • Fury of Dracula
  • Risk 2210A.D.
  • Settlers of Catan
  • Pandemic
  • Munchkin
  • Tzolk’in

 

